SC/21/2 Corporate, Infrastructure and Regulatory Services Scrutiny Committee 23 September 2021

Locality Budget Annual Report 2020/2021

Joint Report of the County Treasurer, and Head of Communities

1. Introduction

In line with the Council's 'Locality Budget Operating Principles' an annual statement which summarises the allocations approved by Members is submitted to this Committee for audit and monitoring purposes.

Each Member of the County Council was allocated a budget of £10,000 for 2020/21 to use to respond to local needs by giving grants in accordance with operating principles in Part 3 of Section 5 of the Constitution.

The locality budget process enables Members to give grants which respond to local needs within electoral divisions by supporting projects or activities that benefit the people and communities they represent.

2. Locality Budget Statement of 2020/21

This Statement has been prepared for audit and monitoring purposes and summarises expenditure in 2020/21 by each of the 60 Councillors.

For each Member, Appendix 1 to this report details:

- Total Locality Budget for 2020/21
- Carried forward Locality Budget from 2019/20
- Total Locality Budget payments allocated in 2020/21.

The Committee may wish to note the following:

Total Locality Budget for 2020/21

• The total Locality Budget available for 2020/21 was £857,306

Total Locality Budget allocated in 2020/21

• The total Locality Budget allocated in 2020/21 was £822,721

Total Underspend for 2020/21

• At year end, the total underspend for 2020/21 was £34,585

It is proposed that the underspend for 2020/21 is utilised around the issue of food insecurity given the Council's concern and developing role in this space. This funding

will be distributed to families in need through small grants for emergency funding via the Council's Early Help teams from September 2021.

3. 2020/21, the COVID-19 Pandemic and Community Resilience

With DCC responding to the COVID-19 crisis throughout this period, the Doing What Matters and Making the Connection community grant schemes were suspended, with resources diverted to an initial COVID-19 Prompt Action Fund (PAF) and then to subsequent COVID-19 Action Funds thereafter. The Crowdfund Devon pilot also continued to operate throughout the period.

Our healthcare systems, public health practitioners, local and national government working with our voluntary and community services continued to seek to slow the spread of Coronavirus and support people. Through the PAF and COVID-19 Action Funds, DCC provided rapidly small (less than £500) and medium (£500 to £5k) amounts of grant funding to community-led schemes, which identified and/or achieved the important things that safely addressed some of the issues arising from the pandemic.

The Locality Budget, with the Prompt Action Fund and subsequent Covid-19 Funds, as well as Crowdfund Devon, have been key elements of the Council's commitment to community resilience throughout 2020/21 and the Covid-19 pandemic.

Mary Davis County Treasurer

Simon Kitchen Head of Communities

Electoral Divisions: All

Cabinet Member for Public Health, Communities and Equality: Councillor Roger Croad Cabinet Member for Finance: Councillor Phil Twiss

Local Government Act 1972: List of Background Papers

Contact for enquiries: Zoe Moore

Room No. G29, County Hall, Topsham Road, Exeter, EX2 4QD

Tel No: (01392) 382865

Background Paper

Date

File Reference

Nil

Locality Budget Annual Report 2020 2021 - Final

Appendix 1 to SC/21/2

	Brought			
DCC Elected	forward	Budget	Total	Total
Member	19/20	20/21	Budget	Allocated
lan Hall	£524	£10,000	£10,524	£10,524
Ray Bioxham	£3,624	£10,000	£13,624	£12,714
Sara Randall-	,	,	,	,
Johnson	£3,624	£10,000	£13,624	£12,714
Richard Scott	£5,793	£10,000	£15,793	£15,793
Jeffrey Trail	£5,592	£10,000	£15,592	£15,592
Christine Channon	£6,348	£10,000	£16,348	£16,198
Phillip Twiss	£3,391	£10,000	£13,391	£13,391
Claire Wright	£2,760	£10,000	£12,760	£12,934
Martin Shaw	£323	£10,000	£10,323	£10,323
Stuart Hughes	£1,253	£10,000	£11,253	£11,253
lain Chubb	£8,790	£10,000	£18,790	£16,089
EAST DEVON	£42,020	£110,000	£152,020	£147,524
	,	,	,	,
Yvonne Atkinson	£1,463	£10,000	£11,463	£11,463
Percy Prowse	£4,419	£10,000	£14,419	£14,419
Rob Hannaford	£1,107	£10,000	£11,107	£10,607
Greg Sheldon	£12,262	£10,000	£22,262	£21,812
Hilary Ackland	£2,399	£10,000	£12,399	£12,399
Carol Whitton	£9,523	£10,000	£19,523	£18,418
Su Aves	£2,814	£10,000	£12,814	£12,814
Andrew Leadbetter	£7,018	£10,000	£17,018	£17,018
Marina Asvachin	£127	£10,000	£10,127	£10,212
EXETER	£41,132	£90,000	£131,132	£129,161
Nick Way	£4,566	£10,000	£14,566	£14,549
Margaret Squires	£7,882	£10,000	£17,882	£17,882
John Berry	£967	£10,000	£10,967	£10,828
Colin Slade	£280	£10,000	£10,280	£10,280
Polly Colthorpe	£1,205	£10,000	£11,205	£11,205
Ray Radford	£5,453	£10,000	£15,453	£15,453
MID DEVON	£20,354	£60,000	£80,354	£80,198
Brian Greenslade	£11,508	£10,000	£21,508	£20,500
John Mathews	£3,053	£10,000	£13,053	£5,424
Caroline Chugg	£2,420	£10,000	£12,420	£12,378
Richard Edgell	£1,399	£10,000	£11,399	£11,399
Andrea Davis	£15,359	£10,000	£25,359	£25,317
Frank Biederman	£4,612	£10,000	£14,612	£14,569
Paul Crabb	£13,274	£10,000	£23,274	£7,400
Jeremy Yabsley	£3,162	£10,000	£13,162	£13,120
NORTH DEVON	£54,786	£80,000	£134,786	£110,106

	Brought			
DCC Elected	forward	Budget	Total	Total
Member	19/20	20/21	Budget	Allocated
John Hart	£6,884	£10,000	£16,884	£15,950
Jonathon Hawkins	£172	£10,000	£10,172	£10,171
Roger Croad	£6,725	£10,000	£16,725	£16,707
Julian Brazil	£920	£10,000	£10,920	£10,916
Rufus Gilbert	£4,894	£10,000	£14,894	£14,893
Richard Hosking	£12,268	£10,000	£22,268	£22,268
Jacqui Hodgson	£5	£10,000	£10,005	£10,005
SOUTH HAMS	£31,866	£70,000	£101,866	£100,910
Stuart Barker	£12,550	£10,000	£22,550	£22,550
George Gribble	£5,795	£10,000	£15,795	£15,795
Jerry Brook	£7,429	£10,000	£17,429	£19,429
John Clatworthy	£1,096	£10,000	£11,096	£11,096
Alan Connett	£0	£10,000	£10,000	£10,000
Alistair Dewhirst	£900	£10,000	£10,900	£10,900
Ron Peart	£1,349	£10,000	£11,349	£11,350
Jackie Hook	£1,200	£10,000	£11,200	£11,200
Gordon Hook	£3,743	£10,000	£13,743	£13,743
Sylvia Russell	£4,919	£10,000	£14,919	£14,740
TEIGNBRIDGE	£38,981	£100,000	£138,981	£140,803
Linda Hellyer	£4,346	£10,000	£14,346	£14,303
Tony Inch	£6,028	£10,000	£16,028	£15,786
Barry Parsons	£2,312	£10,000	£12,312	£12,270
Andrew Eastman	£6,131	£10,000	£16,131	£12,757
Andrew Saywell	£1,999	£10,000	£11,999	£11,857
TORRIDGE	£20,816	£50,000	£70,816	£66,974
James McInnes	£1,345	£10,000	£11,345	£11,345
Kevin Ball	£3,624	£10,000	£13,624	£13,320
Debo Sellis	£0	£10,000	£10,000	£10,000
Philip Sanders	£2,380	£10,000	£12,380	£12,380
WEST DEVON	£7,349	£40,000	£47,349	£47,045
TOTAL	£257,306	£600,000	£857,306	£822,721